Keeping the hands busy

Yes, it has been a shamefully long time since I last blogged. Life here on the farm just requires way more time than we ever seem to have. The brutal winter didn’t help much, as we shifted between trying to prevent ice damage and frozen pipes, and endless hours of snow shoveling. (Worst of all: where to put all that white stuff??)

Thankfully we believe the winter is over and gone, and we are appreciating somewhat warmer days and (for now, at least) rain instead of snow. I was, however, able to use some of those no-electricity days and too-tired-to-work evenings to keep up with some knitting projects.

Naturally I started about ten new ones, too, so I’m just now (and very slowly) finishing them off one by one. Here are a few of the off-the-needles-at-last efforts. (Click on photo to enlarge, and to find out what these are.)

8 thoughts on “Keeping the hands busy

    1. It helped me when someone told me to become fearless when stretching lace. Scary. Also pin alternately on opposite sides of the work. I use a clear quilting ruler to check for straight lines, and to make sure of consistent measurements. Blocking wires are handy, too. Finally, expect to move pins around until you are really satisfied with the look. Most of all, have fun and love whatever you create!

      1. Thanks for the pointers! I’ll have to give them a go the next time I work on some lace. I already have t-pins, but do you have any recommendations as far as blocking wires go?

      2. I bought mine some time ago, and honestly don’t remember where I got them. I’ve also read that a good smooth cotton thread will work, too. The idea is to thread (literally “thread” or wires) through the edge of lace so you can place your pins on the cotton/wire rather than the lace piece itself. Less stressful on the lace. But I’ve also blocked some fairly long lace pieces (like Eunny Jan’s “Elaborated Print O’the Wave” piece) without wires. I just placed a lot of pins along the edges, about ½” apart.

        I also try to find out the best way to block any particular fiber. The Elaborated piece was cotton/rayon/flax and I pinned it dry, then “spritzed” with my water bottle. For wool I like to soak it very gently, being sure the water gets all the way through the fibers, dry a bit by wrapping carefully in a towel and then pinning.

        I’m still learning!

        *Catherine Grace, CHS* *Community of the Holy Spirit* *Melrose Convent — Bluestone Farm and Living Arts Center* 118 Federal Hill Road Brewster, NY 10509-5307 845-363-1971 x10 http://www.chssisters.org

        On Thu, May 1, 2014 at 10:23 PM, Grace-full Thoughts wrote:

        >

Leave a Reply

