Wascally Wabbit

I know, I know. Over two months. So I was traveling (several times), managed to land another bout of bronchitis and pneumonia, and celebrated my birthday by sliding down a few steps, giving me a technicolor behind and one very sore elbow. Don’t turn 62. Not worth the pain.

And yes, I know none of that has anything to do with a “wascally wabbit”, so let me explain what that’s about.

Several weeks ago someone informed us that a little rabbit was found near one of our buildings, and wondered if it might be ours. Yeah, right. One more “found” creature, looking for home charming. Enter the Sisters of CHS, Bluestone Farm.

Oh it’s cute all right. Downright adorable. And it’s also the brightest, craftiest, most creative and clever creature to land on our doorstep in quite some time.

The wonderful folks at the House Rabbit Society graciously gave us everything we needed to make this little devil feel welcome: a big puppy pen to exercise in, food, toys, two excellent books to read, and lots of helpful advice. The one little bit of info they forgot to mention is that rabbits are brilliant and do not like to be confined.

Oh, and once free they like to destroy as much as possible in the shortest time available to them.

Really, really impressive.

“Smudge” laid low for about a week and a half, eating copious quantities of hay, greens and treats; used its litter box like a pro, decided Simon (who has deep interest in the little gray guy, mostly culinary in nature) was a terrific playmate; and generally endeared itself to one and all.

We took him/her to the vet ($58), which revealed that 1) we still don’t know his/her gender; 2) it’s healthy; 3) it refuses to have its rapidly growing claws trimmed; 4) we have no idea what breed or how big this creature will be; and 5) it will need to be spayed/neutered fairly soon. I should have paid more attention when our lovely vet rolled her eyes at me and made a crack about letting Simon meet the bunny face-to-face as a possible solution. I didn’t ask “to what”, and I should have.

Smudge has managed to escape (many times) from a 30″ high puppy pen. So we added boards and screens for a “roof”.

S/he still got out.

Then I “sewed” fencing to the top, which worked, but meant I had to crawl into the pen on all fours and clean it out from that position. That lasted about a week. Then I realized a bunny could not escape when boards were place around the edge, so we tried that.

Worked fine … until the SmudgeBun discovered that hopping onto the cardboard house I carefully created for him/her was the perfect way to scale the pen and land on the table next to it. Where, I might add, we keep several tasty apple tree branches, which the Rabbit from Hell loves.

When I removed the house, s/he learned that the little tunnel s/he loves so much works well, too. I placed it in the center of the pen, and made sure the RfH couldn’t move it. I also bought a cage (I stopped calculating rabbit costs long before this) and figured out that I could place it over the doorway to the pen, giving the Bun access to both cage and pen.

Great.

Until the Bun discovered how to tear down the cardboard I installed over the cage to block the top part of the doorway to the pen.

About the eighteenth time I had to track down that bunny from behind all the wire pea cages, I began to get the idea behind the vet’s early suggestion. Simon could take care of this in a flash.

I just can’t do it. Not yet, anyway.

Anyone want a totally adorable little bunny? Lots of free goodies come with it …

2 thoughts on “Wascally Wabbit

  1. I can’t help it… I’m laughing. I never realized rabbits could be so creative and clever. It makes me thankful that I never gave in to my youngest son’s request to get a “cute little bunny.”

    I do hope, for your sake, it isn’t one of those giant German rabbits (and THAT always reminds me of Wallace and Gromit and the Were-Rabbit).

    Welcome back to blog world. 🙂

  2. At this point it looks like Smudge (though “The Terminator” might have been a more appropriate name) will be a normal-sized rabbit. On the other hand, I wouldn’t put anything past this creature, including growing up to be the size of a Volkswagen.

    I should have been more suspicious when all that free rabbit-stuff was dropped off by two of the nicest people I’ve ever met.

    Rabbit lovers (who knew there are folks who could actually learn to love this behavior) tell me a bunny doesn’t grow into its full personality until at least a year, and that many a potential bunny-owner will get rid of their hoppy little acquisition before that year is up. I’m hoping (fervently praying would be more like it) that means it will calm down and acquire more human-tolerable behavior. I’m doing my best to survive that year …

    CG

Leave a Reply

